Dental office desk with dual monitors showing a declining cost dashboard and a stack of invoices

Almost nobody in dental software will tell you what their product costs without a sales call first.

Search for dental practice management software cost and you will find a confident answer. Roughly $100 to $1,000 a month, with the bigger platforms landing somewhere between $500 and $900. Here is the uncomfortable part: as a description of headline subscription prices, that range is broadly right. Across the fourteen platforms we checked, the published rates run from $129 and $149 at the low end through $430, $650, $795, $829 and $899, plus two premium tiers at $1,299 and $1,399. Introductory and startup rates sit below those, running from $0 and $400 for new practices up to $179 and $199 for established ones.

So the range is not a lie. It is the wrong number to budget from, and the reason is easiest to see in a single collision. Two vendors both publish $899. One covers unlimited providers at a location. The other covers two, and your third dentist costs another $100 a month. Neither number is wrong, and comparing them tells you almost nothing.

A monthly range sets a floor, not a budget. What decides the actual figure is the billing unit, what the price includes, what it excludes, and a set of one-time costs that several of these vendors keep off the pricing page entirely. A practice can sign the cheapest headline in the category and still spend more in year one than the practice that signed the most expensive one.

Two things we found while checking make the point better than any range can. Oryx, the vendor whose pricing page says “no hidden fees, no surprise add-ons,” discloses in a FAQ several screens down that a practice converting from another system pays a setup fee, a data conversion fee and an image conversion fee. And Practice-Web publishes two different price schedules on its own website, on the pricing page and on the homepage, that do not agree. Neither vendor is hiding anything. The numbers are simply not where you would look for them.

So we went and checked ourselves. Vendor by vendor, we pulled the pricing pages that actually exist, wrote down what each one publishes, and noted what each one leaves you to ask about. Then we added the cost lines that sit outside the subscription entirely. This will not hand you a single number, because no honest article can. It will tell you which questions decide your number.

Why a Monthly Range Cannot Be Budgeted From

Before using any figure in this category, including ours, it helps to know why the numbers in circulation are softer than they look.

Start with who is answering the question. Search this topic and the top results are largely not dental companies. They are software-comparison aggregators, a SaaS pricing-strategy consultancy with no dental product, competing PMS vendors describing a market they sell into, and at least one app in an adjacent category entirely. Very few of them run the systems they are pricing.

None of that is dishonest. It is just secondhand. When a range gets repeated across enough pages, it starts to read as a market fact rather than an estimate, and the estimate is what everyone is quoting. We have watched the same pattern play out with dental PMS market share figures, where the numbers in circulation rarely survive being traced back to a source.

The second problem catches practices mid-purchase: published prices move. Open Dental raised its United States rate on February 2, 2026, from $179 a month to $199 for the first year, and its published fee schedule states that offices which started at $179 before that date keep it for their entire initial 12 month period. So $179 is still being charged, just not to anyone signing up now. An article written before February is quoting a number a new practice cannot get, and most carry no date saying so. When you read a PMS price anywhere, including here, ask when it was last checked against the vendor’s own page.

The last problem is structural. A monthly license fee is not the cost of a practice management system. It is one line in a stack that includes conversion, hardware, add-on modules, per-provider charges and the labor to run all of it. A vendor quoting you $199 and a vendor quoting you $899 may be quoting for very different amounts of that stack.

What Each Vendor Actually Publishes

Here is the state of published pricing in this category as of August 2026, checked directly against each vendor’s own pages. The most useful column is the last one, because a price with no unit attached to it cannot be compared to anything.

Sources for every figure below, in order: Open Dental fees, Open Dental Cloud, Practice-Web pricing, Oryx pricing, CareStack pricing, Archy pricing and the Planet DDS product FAQ for Denticon.

Platform Published monthly price Billing unit Providers included Conversion and training What you still have to ask
Open Dental (self-hosted) $199 first 12 months, then the reduced rate published at month 13, currently $149 Per location, all computers Up to 3, then $20 each Both priced separately and published Which add-on modules you actually need
Open Dental Cloud $430 Per location One, then $150 each $400 one-time migration, published Session count and image storage above the allotment
Practice-Web $179 promo, then $129 (reg. $199, then $149) Per office. Additional offices $129 promo (reg. $179) Up to 3 dentists, then $20 each Install and web training included on the first office. Conversion $1,195 Which add-on modules you actually need
Oryx Pro $650 Per location Up to 2, then $100 each Onboarding and training included. Conversion is a separate quoted fee The setup, data conversion and image conversion fees, and whether Oryx Enterprise pricing applies
Oryx Automate $899 Per location Up to 2, then $100 each Onboarding and training included. Conversion is a separate quoted fee The setup, data conversion and image conversion fees, and whether Oryx Enterprise pricing applies
Oryx AI $1,399 Per location Up to 2, then $200 each Onboarding and training included. Conversion is a separate quoted fee The setup, data conversion and image conversion fees, and whether Oryx Enterprise pricing applies
CareStack Essentials “Starting at $829” Not stated Not stated Not stated on the pricing page The billing unit, and what “starting at” is based on
CareStack Intelligence “Starting at $1,299” Not stated Not stated Not stated on the pricing page The billing unit, and what “starting at” is based on
Archy $899 Per location Unlimited, no provider charge Not stated on the pricing page Pricing for the optional specialty suites
Denticon “Starts at $795”, in a product-page FAQ Not stated Not stated Not stated Nearly everything past the starting figure
Dentrix Not published Not published Not published Not published Everything
Dentrix Ascend Not published Not published Not published Not published Everything
Eaglesoft Not published Not published Not published Not published Everything, including which plan you need
Curve Dental Not published Not published Not published Not published Everything

Read the table as a map of who will tell you the price before you take a sales call, not as a ranking. A vendor that publishes is easier to budget against. That is a different question from whether it is the right system for your group, and the two get conflated constantly.

Two things in that table are worth stopping on.

The first is where the published figures are hiding. Denticon’s price is real and comes from Planet DDS, but it appears as an answer inside a product-page FAQ rather than on a pricing page, which may be why it is missing from most comparisons. Oryx’s conversion fees sit in a FAQ the same way. Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft and Curve Dental publish nothing at all, so the widely quoted “$500 to $900 per month” band for the enterprise platforms rests partly on vendors who have never confirmed a number. Treat that band as an estimate rather than a market fact, and check a vendor’s FAQ blocks before concluding it discloses nothing.

The second is the unit. Archy at $899 covers unlimited providers at a location. Oryx Automate at the identical $899 covers two, and a third provider makes it $999. Same headline number, materially different bill for a practice with four dentists and two hygienists. The unit is the part that decides what you pay, and it is the part the summaries drop first.

The Cost Lines That Sit Outside the Subscription

This is the part that separates a software budget from a real one. Open Dental appears repeatedly below because it publishes far more detail than anyone else in dentistry, not because it is the most expensive or the least, and a vendor whose rate card is private is not necessarily charging more. Second, these lines are not universal, and the exceptions are narrower than a pricing page makes them look. Oryx bundles onboarding and training into the subscription and says so, but its own FAQ states that an office converting from another provider pays a setup fee, a data conversion fee and an image conversion fee. Its pricing page is a fair illustration of the pattern this whole article is about: the tier cards read as all-inclusive, and the conversion charges live in a FAQ several screens below them. Not every practice pays every line below. Each one is a real cost somewhere, and the only way to know which apply to you is to ask per vendor.

1. Data conversion, quoted per database

Moving your patient database is a paid, quoted project. Open Dental publishes its conversion pricing openly: the typical United States conversion is $1,450 per database, with the final quote depending on the source system and the size and complexity of the database.

Practice-Web publishes its own conversion price at $1,195, currently discounted from $1,295.

Practice-Web is also a live example of why you should check more than one page on a vendor’s site. Its pricing page lists the software at $179 a month for twelve months and then $129, while its own homepage advertises $149 a month for twelve months and then $99, with neither page carrying a canonical pointing at the other. Both are the vendor’s own published figures and they do not agree. Ask which schedule applies to you and get the answer in the quote.

The multi-location detail matters more than the headline. Open Dental charges an additional $400 per clinic for practices with multiple locations in the same database, so a group pays the base conversion plus a per-clinic charge across its footprint rather than a single flat fee. The published wording does not make clear whether that charge applies to every location or only the additional ones, so get the total in the written quote. A ten-location group is looking at several thousand dollars in data conversion before anyone has touched an x-ray.

2. Images and x-rays, which are a separate project

Here is a line almost nobody budgets for. In Open Dental’s published schedule, converting your scanned documents is not part of a data conversion and carries its own fee, typically $850, and converting x-ray images is separate again at typically $900. A practice that budgeted $1,450 for that vendor’s conversion and needs both is at $3,200.

No other vendor we checked publishes a separate price for image or x-ray conversion, which does not mean the work is free elsewhere. Oryx confirms it charges an image-conversion fee without saying what it is. Ask for it as its own line rather than assuming it sits inside the data conversion.

3. The insurance data that does not come across

No vendor invoices this one. It arrives as staff labor, and it is the line we most often see practices underestimate.

Open Dental states plainly that it does not convert exact insurance benefits for most conversions, including annual maximums and exact coverage on particular procedures, and that some of that data will need to be manually re-entered by your office after the conversion.

Operationally, that means front desk staff rebuilding insurance plan details by hand for the active patient base while still verifying benefits for tomorrow’s schedule. Nobody invoices for it, and it still costs real money in overtime, slower verification and the claim errors that follow a plan detail typed in wrong. Across a group this is the line that scales worst, because it repeats in full at every location and cannot be centralized away. When a conversion is remembered as painful, this is usually a large share of why.

4. The server, if your system needs one

A server-based PMS carries infrastructure a cloud one does not. Open Dental recommends a dedicated server and supports Windows Server 2016 through 2025. Microsoft’s suggested price for Windows Server 2025 Standard is $1,176, and Microsoft states that client access licenses are required for every user or device accessing the server, which is a second line item on top of the operating system.

Add the hardware itself, a UPS, and the replacement cycle. Our standing position is that servers get replaced every five years, with seven as the outside limit and active warranties throughout, so server-based groups should carry an amortized replacement line rather than treating it as a surprise every few years.

This is the case for cloud that gets made least often. On our reading of the published rates, cloud is often not cheaper on the monthly line. What it removes is the hardware refresh, the server operating system license, the CALs, and the local backup operation. It does not remove your backup obligations: retention, recovery testing, export rights and vendor risk stay yours, and for a group they belong in the same governance model whether the server is in a closet or in someone else’s data center. We have made the fuller case for moving a practice to the cloud separately. We have written separately about what it costs to have someone manage that infrastructure, which is a related question and a genuinely different one from the software license.

5. Per-provider charges, which grow when you do

Most of the published prices cover a fixed number of providers, and the definition varies enough to matter. Open Dental covers up to three providers per location and charges $20 a month for each one beyond that, not counting hygienists. Oryx covers two and charges $100 a month for each additional provider, or $200 on its AI tier. Practice-Web adds $20 a month per dentist beyond three. Archy charges nothing for additional providers.

Across those four vendors the same event, adding one provider, costs anywhere from nothing to $200 a month. For a group onboarding associates across a dozen locations, that spread compounds into a real line rather than a rounding difference.

6. Add-on modules, which are where a low base price goes to grow

A base license is often a subset of what a practice actually runs. Open Dental’s published add-ons include an eServices bundle at $165 a month per location, patient check-in and forms through eClipboard at $45, secure email at $30, online scheduling at $75, a mobile app at $35, and AI image analysis at $149. Electronic prescribing is priced per prescribing provider, running roughly $29 to $57 a month depending on the product and whether controlled-substance prescribing is included. The two products are not structured the same way. DoseSpot folds identity proofing and controlled-substance prescribing into its monthly rate, while Ensora prices those separately, adding a $45 one-time identity-proofing fee and a $155 annual fee per prescriber for controlled substances. The two also scale differently, which matters at group size: Open Dental’s schedule states DoseSpot charges are per provider regardless of the number of locations, while Ensora charges are per provider per database. A group running several databases pays for the same prescriber more than once on one product and not the other.

A practice on a $149 base that runs the bundle, online scheduling and eRx is not on a $149 system. The base plus the $165 bundle plus $75 scheduling is already $389, and one prescribing provider puts it between $418 and $446 depending on which eRx product you pick. Every line of that is a legitimate published price rather than a hidden fee. The mistake is comparing that $149 against a competitor’s all-in $899 and concluding one is six times the other.

7. Training, at a real day rate

Where training is bundled into a conversion quote, it comes with an allotment that gets consumed quietly. Only two vendors we checked publish what more of it costs. Open Dental lists on-site training at $4,325 for the first day per trainer and $1,325 for each additional consecutive day, with online training at $80 an hour, and Practice-Web lists additional training at $75 an hour. Oryx takes the other approach and includes onboarding and training in the subscription, though as noted above its conversion work is quoted separately.

Get the included allotment in writing and price one or two extra days into the plan, because the practices that need them are rarely the ones that budgeted for them.

The Multi-Location Math Nobody Runs Before Signing

Everything above changes shape at scale, and not always in the direction you would expect.

Volume pricing is real. Open Dental publishes a group rate of $169 a month per office for organizations running four to nine offices, dropping to $149 after an office has been on support for twelve consecutive months, with ten or more offices custom quoted. Prepayment discounts run 5 percent for six months, 10 percent for a year and 15 percent for two to three years.

There is a second thing to know before running any of this math at scale: the published per-location rate may not be the rate a group is quoted at all. Oryx markets an Oryx Enterprise tier for DSOs and multi-location practices with a dedicated enterprise team and no published figure, and CareStack states that its licensing varies by locations, chairs and providers. So for a group, the retail tiers in the table above are a reference point for what the software does, not a reliable basis for a budget. Ask every vendor on your shortlist whether an enterprise agreement exists before you model anything off a public price.

Now the part that costs DSOs money, and it is buried in the terms rather than the price table. Open Dental states that if you stop support and resume later, any discounts earned while on support are lost and the published fee applies again.

The clause is written about support lapses generally, but the scenario where we see it bite is an acquisition: if a seller lets support drop while a practice changes hands, the earned discount on that location does not travel with the deal. Confirm the treatment with the vendor before closing, when it is still negotiable. The broader pattern holds anywhere a vendor ties rates to tenure, as Open Dental does, so a growing group carries a mix of rates rather than one number.

This is the specific reason PMS cost is an integration question rather than a procurement one. Tom Terronez, our founder, has made this point on LinkedIn: most DSOs pick a PMS the way they pick accounting software, evaluating features and price. His point is that the PMS decides how you scale operations, integrate data, run centralized services and report across locations. It is not a tool. It is the operating backbone.

The cost consequence of getting that wrong is not the license fee. It is what he describes seeing in the field: groups that acquire ten practices on three platforms, then wonder why centralized billing does not work and reporting takes weeks. Consolidating later is a conversion project multiplied by every location: the base conversion, the per-clinic charge on top of it, the image and x-ray conversions, the insurance re-entry labor at every site, and retraining every team. That is the bill that arrives when a PMS choice is made one practice at a time, and it is why the sequencing of a PMS migration deserves as much planning as the selection itself.

If you are acquiring, price the conversion during diligence rather than after closing. We cover the broader version of that in our IT diligence checklist for dental acquisitions. On the deals we see, the PMS line is often large enough to change what a practice is worth to you.

What to Verify Before You Sign a PMS Contract

Every one of these is a question a vendor can answer in a sentence, and each answer changes the total materially.

Ask what the price is charged per, not just what the price is

Per location, per provider, per user, or per practice. Then ask what happens when you add a provider or a location, and confirm how the vendor defines a provider, since Open Dental excludes hygienists from its count and others do not say. As the Archy and Oryx comparison above shows, two vendors quoting the same headline can be hundreds of dollars a month apart once the unit is known.

Ask what the price becomes in month 13

Introductory rates in this category move in both directions, so the year-one number tells you little on its own. Open Dental steps down after twelve months, while Oryx and Archy step up once a new practice hits a patient count or a time limit. Get the year-two number in writing, find out what event triggers the change, and confirm whether that number is fixed or defined as whatever is published on the day it applies.

Get the conversion quoted in writing, including images and x-rays

Ask for three separate figures: the data conversion, the scanned document conversion, and the x-ray conversion. Ask whether your specific legacy system and version are on the vendor’s supported list, since support for older versions varies. If you have multiple locations in one database, ask for the per-clinic add-on in the same quote.

Ask specifically what insurance data does not come across

This is the single most useful question on this list. Ask which insurance fields transfer, which do not, and what the vendor has seen practices spend in staff hours rebuilding them. Then plan coverage for that period rather than discovering it during your first week live.

Price the infrastructure separately from the software

If the system is server-based, get the server hardware, the server operating system license, the client access licenses, the backup target and the replacement cycle into the same spreadsheet as the monthly fee. Comparing a cloud subscription against a self-hosted license without that layer is not a comparison.

List the modules you will actually run, then re-price

Take your current feature set, including texting, online scheduling, forms, eRx and imaging analysis, and ask each vendor to price that exact set. Base licenses are not comparable to each other because they include different things.

Ask what happens to the rate when a location leaves and comes back

Acquisitive groups should ask this explicitly, along with what rate a newly acquired location joins at. Earned discounts that reset are a real cost of doing deals and they never appear in the initial quote.

How to Read a PMS Price Without Getting Burned

Pricing in this category is not standardized enough to compare on a single number. Four of the platforms we checked publish nothing at all, a fifth discloses its starting figure only inside a product FAQ, and among those that do publish, the same headline can cover two providers or unlimited ones. The costs most likely to break a budget, which are conversion, image and x-ray migration, insurance re-entry labor, server infrastructure and per-provider growth, sit almost entirely outside the number a vendor leads with.

So the monthly license is the beginning of the question rather than the answer to it. Price the license, the conversion, the infrastructure and the modules together and the ranking of your options often changes, because the cheapest monthly fee is sometimes the most expensive system to run. The short version we would hand an operator: get the unit in writing, get the year-two rate in writing, get the conversion quoted in three parts, and put the infrastructure in the same spreadsheet. If you are running a group, add one more question and ask whether an enterprise agreement replaces the published rate entirely.

If you are still deciding which platforms belong on your shortlist, our breakdown of the best dental practice management software covers that side of the decision. And if the reason you are pricing a platform is that you are opening a location, the choice also sets your bandwidth, cabling and server spec, which is why it comes first in the pre-opening buildout sequence.

Dental PMS Cost Questions

Is there a free dental practice management software option?

Not a meaningful one in the United States, and the most common answer to this question is now out of date. Open Dental was distributed under an open source GPL license for years, which is why “free dental software” still points at it. That changed: Open Dental states that in version 24.4 the license moved from open source GPL to proprietary, with no change in price, support or database access. The commercial arrangement was always a monthly support fee regardless, and the fee schedule states that support is required to sign up for most additional services. Two genuine exemptions exist and neither applies to a normal practice: dental, hygiene and dental assisting schools are free, and offices in countries Open Dental classifies as developing are free with limited support. Treat any “free PMS” claim as paid software with an open database, not as no cost.

Can I negotiate dental PMS pricing, and what is actually negotiable?

On a published rate card, the headline rate is the hardest part to move. Open Dental states that any variation from its published pricing must be in writing, which is a useful clause to know exists. In our experience the room is in everything around the license: conversion scope, how many training days are included, whether image and x-ray conversion is bundled, and the prepayment term. For a multi-location group the bigger lever is whether the vendor has an enterprise agreement at all, since a custom DSO tier is negotiated rather than published. Prepaying is the one lever that is published outright, at 5 percent for six months, 10 percent for a year and 15 percent for two to three years, so a group with cash available can take a real discount without asking anyone for a favor.

What happens to the pricing if I want to leave the system later?

Ask this before signing, not after, because exit terms are where a cheap system gets expensive. Open Dental publishes a 90 day money-back guarantee on support fees, conditioned on the office actually ceasing use of the software, while conversion, training and query work already performed are non-refundable. The larger question is data portability rather than refunds. Getting your database out and into another system is a conversion project priced by the receiving vendor, which is why conversion pricing matters in both directions. Confirm in writing what format your data can be exported in and who owns it.

Does the PMS price include imaging, or is that a separate system?

It varies enough that it belongs on every comparison sheet. Some platforms include native imaging in the base price, and CareStack lists FDA-cleared native imaging among the features included at its published rates. Others treat imaging as a separate integration with its own vendor and its own cost, which is the traditional arrangement in server-based practices. This matters for conversions too, since Open Dental prices x-ray image conversion as a distinct project at typically $900, separate from both the data conversion and the scanned document conversion. Ask each vendor whether imaging is included, integrated or separate before comparing monthly figures.

How far in advance should a practice budget for a PMS change?

Treat it as a capital and staffing decision rather than a software purchase. The one-time costs land in a single quarter, covering conversion, image and x-ray migration, any server refresh and the training days, while the disruption to collections shows up in the weeks after go-live when insurance details are being rebuilt and the team is slower on an unfamiliar system. Practices that plan for a temporary dip in production and verification speed handle it far better than practices that budgeted only for the license. For a group, add the time to run this per location rather than once.

Why do published price ranges for dental software vary so much between articles?

Three reasons, all checkable. First, a third of the field publishes no rate card at all: of the nine distinct vendors in our table, Henry Schein One, Patterson and Curve Dental disclose nothing, so any complete-looking market range contains estimates. Second, published prices change without announcement, as Open Dental’s February 2026 increase shows, and most articles carry no date telling you when the figure was verified. Third, the same headline number can cover very different things, since one vendor’s price includes unlimited providers and another’s includes two. When comparing sources, ask which figures link to a vendor’s own page.

Posted in DSO, PMS

Filter By: